The Three Treasures : Exclusive to Priests

In Buddhist tradition, the Three Treasures are :

-   the Buddha,

-   the Law, and

  1. -  the Samgha (Buddhist Order, or Community of Believers).

The Treasure of “Buddhist Order” is understood by the priesthood to exclude laity:

The Priesthood:  

                            The Treasure of the Priest includes   

                              all the Head Priests and assistant Priests, who with absolute

                              faith in and obedience to the instruction of the High Priest ,

                              are dispatched to each local temple as his representatives.”

                       DaiNichiren publication, page 13


         The Treasure of “Buddhist Order” or “Community of Believers” means all lay

         believers and priests alike:



Back to: Nichiren Shoshu & S G I